New and have build questions

chuddly

I am completely new to quadcopters but want to build one. I dont need it to be super fast or anything crazy for acrobatics. I do want something that will carry my Gopro (hero3), is stable, a good long flight time(if I could get 10-15 min fully loaded i would be happy...more is always better LOL) and is fairly robust. I read the build on Oddcopter.com (http://oddcopter.com/2012/12/12/easy-diy-quadcopter-build-part-1-the-parts-list/) and thought about going that way because i like the idea of mounting my Gopro under the main plates to keep the props and arms out of the video shot. I would like put a FPV set up on it later down the road once i get good at flying it. The parts list is pretty much identical to the one on Oddcopter with the exception of a few things that are no longer available and those i just looked for the newer version. Below I will list out my needs/wants for easy reference.

Needs/wants
1. Long flight time (10-15 min fully loaded)
2. Able to carry video (I like the idea of underslung video mount)
3. Robust/resilient
4. Stable
5. Reasonably priced (its my first time in it...i want to see if I like it before i sink to much into it.)

Future planned upgrades
1. FPV setup
2. Gimble setup for Gopro.

I may be asking for the moon but im just trying to list out what i would like and see if you guys who are well versed (from what i have read here) can point me in the right direction. I have a 3d printer so i can make replacement parts (frame parts...dont trust it to make props) and do stuff like that. Also i have 90 acres so a place to fly isnt a problem at all and neither is portability. Thanks in advance guys...im really looking forward to getting my feet wet in this. I do enjoy tinkering but want something i can use and i dont CONSTANTLY have to work on.

Chad

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Hey Chad, welcome to the forum.

Seems man like you have caught the bug - and have certainly turned to the right place.