Just getting into gimbals please help, what's a good controller?

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
What's a good and fair priced gimbal controller? What's everyone using? I don't want the super high priced model, just something that'll work and work well for a fair price. I'm just getting into gimbals so your help is appreciated, thanks!

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
What camera are you intending to use? There is a bit of a difference for a GoPro gimbal v one that carries a DSLR. Do you want 3 axis or 2 axis?

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
What camera are you intending to use? There is a bit of a difference for a GoPro gimbal v one that carries a DSLR. Do you want 3 axis or 2 axis?

Duh, yeah I guess you'll need to know that. I want to be able to use a GoPro2 or 3 and small-ish cameras like that. Keep in mind this is for the gimbal controller, not the gimbal. Also it needs to be light. :)

Last edited by a moderator:

Stacky

If I remember you fly a gopro?.
Money is always a factor but if you want to fly with a gopro and you dont want to spend ages messing around with tuning and software the Quaternium gimbal while expensive works right out of the box. You will save yourself the equivalent of the extra cost in the time and hassle saved on the tuning and messing around process.
Its kind of like the NAZA situation where new people to multirotors can buy a NAZA and be flying really quickly without having to go through the learning curve of some other FC's.
So you could buy a cheaper controller and gimbal and then go through the learning curve and not really be flying or you could buy the QUaternium and simply be filming right away with excellent quality footage.

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
If I remember you fly a gopro?.