2.4Ghz Control and FPV

camerart

Hi,

I'm new to RC flying.

I have an old 35Mhz control transmitter, and bought a 2.4Ghz 'Immersion' FPV transmitter and 'Video sender' receiver and small monitor. It might seem the wrong order, but then I made my first T-copter, and soon realised I needed a new up to date Control TX, so I bought a 2.4Ghz Spektrum DX8.

As it is not advised to have both transmitters on similar frequencies, I'm wondering what I might expect. Today I did a test. I put both 2.4Ghz transmitters on an electric car. The car has a little brushed motor driving it. The screen flickered a bit, and I tried moving the antennas, to find the best orientation. The car reached about 100Mtrs before the screen and control failed. This was with simple antennas, and the 2X transmitters about 8 inches apart on the car. I haven't quite understood DSMX yet, but I'm pretty sure it might set-up better, if the FPV transmitter was switched on first, but the way I wired it up meant I turned the DX8 on first, then all of the car electrics.

I haven't tried the FPV in the air yet, which might help results.

Sorry for a long question.

Can anyone, advise me on which is the best way forward.

Cheers, Camerart.

Hi Camerart, I do not use Immersion EZuhf or dragonlink systems but have a look at both to overcome your frequency conflict problem. 2.4 for FPV is a good frequency to use, all you need to do is add UHF to your RC radio system and your ready to go. Also get Circular Polarized Antenna
regards - bruce

kloner

Aerial DP
you either need to sell the 2.4 video gear and switch over to 5.8 or get ezuhf control for the dx8. it's a rock solid link that makes you confident your not gonna loose rc control and have a really solid video feed sticking with 2.4 as your video frequency

camerart