Total Newbie thinking of buying a drone for fun videos, etc. Advice needed!

SeaNile

Glad I found this forum. I'm considering getting a drone for fun aerial videos, of the boat, house and generally just playing around with it and taking various videos. I have no RC experience but saw a few videos of boats shot with a DJI Phantom Vision 2 and love the idea of shooting videos from this vantage point.

I don't want to assemble a kit or make a wish list of parts and put together a drone with camera. Guess what I am asking is there a turn key out of the box drone that would work for me? Having a built in camera would be OK but I am not against getting a GoPro as I would use it as a stand alone video camera for other activities, like on my boat.

Any feedback or advice would be great. I use a MacBook Pro and an iPhone 5s if that makes a difference at all.

Lastly, as this could be a hobby that flames out quickly I do not want to spend more than $1,000. I'm even OK going used via classifieds, members looking to upgrade or even a craigslist find.

Thanks for all of the help.

JK

jbrumberg