Toilet Bowl only on auto land, anyone else experienced this?

tailspnr

Okay, so this is my first post and I'll admit that I'm a little new to the Naza-GPS unit, but so far it's been awesome. I own a LHS and I've just built my first Flamewheel 450 ARF with NAZA-GPS combo for a customer and I think I've got everything dialed in good with the exception of consistent Return Home-Auto Land.

I've done a little reading and come across the spreadsheet of setups. I'm using the basic gain numbers of 145,145,140,145 and altitude gain numbers of 120,120.

What I've noticed is the quad holds impressively in GPS mode and the RTH feature tends to work well approximately 60% of the time, but some times when I test the RTH feature I get a nasty 25'+ toilet bowl effect. The bird, on occasion, tends to start it's final decent before re-establishing a stable hover and never loses the toilet bowl effect. I seem to notice that on the first RTH activation it might work well, but on subsequent RTH activations I get a nasty, unstable decent.

Anyone else familiar with this issue, or have any recommendations?

thanks,
the new guy, Tailspnr........aka Scott Kimball, Hobby World, Louisville KY

tailspnr

BTW, the initial RTH activation after taking off usually results in a smooth and straight line decent on final. It's just subsequent RTH's after the initial RTH that result in scary decents. The last attempt resulted in a bailed FS and almost caused me to loose orientation. Once that happened I lost orientation and sent the craft almost out of site. As a last attempt to save the craft I hit the FS switch and she did as programmed and returned to her original position in the sky and started a normal decent. Once she was in good view I resumed flight in ATT mode and executed a safe landing.

While I'm not 100% comfortable on continuous usage of RTH/FS on the same flight, I have learned to trust the RTH/FS function in that emergency situation.