T960 stability issues - new build - any advice?

oschefer

I've been following the forum for a while now and have been flying a DJI 550 for a bit over a year. I bought a T960 about the same time and built it slowly over the last year as I didn't think it was a good idea to go straight to a 960 size. I have flown RC planes for many years so I am not totally new to the hobby but have only been into multi rotors for a bit over a year now. I finally got the 960 together and am having a terrible time getting it stable. The 550 was a very simple build, but the 960 so far .... not so easy. I have a large gimbal ready to go but have not put it on yet (good thing as I doubt it would have survived) I have been very impressed with the strength of the T960 frame, unfortunately, I am testing it a little too often right now. I am hoping someone out there might be able to point me in the right direction.

Basic specs:
Tarot T960
Motors - TMotor 4014 330kv
Props - 17x5.8 Carbon Fiber TMotor
ESC - ZTW spider 40A with Simon K
Battery 6S
Flight Control - DJI Naza V2
Landing Gear - retracts from foxtech the pilot V2 I think they were called
Weight with battery 10.5 lbs (4.7kg) (no camera rig)
Once I add the gimbal with the camera second radio, battery, etc it adds 5 lbs (2.2kg)
unfortunately I have not installed the IOSD Mark 2 yet so do not have logs.

First several attempts to fly, it would tip over on take off. I realized I had not calibrated the ESC so I did that and tried again. Not sure if the lift off issue was the ESC or just trying to go up too slowly but it gets off the ground now...

1st liftoff - tried flying with no gimbal to just get it flying knowing re-tuning would be needed. Then Naza gains were up in the 175 range if I remember. The battery was mounted on top so I think it was top heavy
video is here :