Suggestions on Heavy Lift build

FlyingFilmmaker

So I am fairly new to multi-rotors, and since I got into them earlier this year, I've had a blast learning about and most importantly flying them. I have my own smaller one, but i'm looking to go bigger. More specifically, something that can fly larger cameras. I am looking for some help on what would be a good build for lifting DSLR's, with the option for a RED Epic. My price range is $15K-$20K. I would also like to implement a dual operator system. A list of items for the build would be appreciated. Thank you.

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
If you are investing this amount then you should start analyzing your needs first:

What load- okay you have that one done ie about 5kg for a Red with lens follow focus and power
What stabilization system- how heavy is this?
Is endurance a key point or stability (eg flying in winds) as this will determine flat or coax
Do you need a folding frame for transportability?
Are there any potential airworthiness aspects you need to consider (probably not required in the US but in the UK this is now something to consider if you are flying in congested areas with a heavy lifter).
With that done you can then start to calculate the thrust you need and from there you can start to spec your motors. escs props and power distribution
Avionics comes next I guess such as flight controller, fpv system if you are going to use one etc

If you end up flying a Red you are now going to be flying a small fortune so don't scrimp on components and get the best you can afford. Most importantly, ensure that you have full compatibility with your components especially between motors and ESCs. At this level, I would just go with whatever ESC the motor provider recommends (in most cases this will inevitably be their own but you want to be safe and not sorry with this- too many dollars are up in the air on a machine like this).

Last edited by a moderator:

FerdinandK