Recording a new Forward Direction, Home Point or POI w/A2.

I have a question about maually recording the Forward Direction, HP and POI in the IOC functionality. I am new to the A2, and am in the process of a scratch build, which I have flown under the V2.6 FW, but just upgraded to v2.7. All went well, and I'm prepping for a tied-down test flight before a free-flight test. I am going through some exercises to familiarize myself with manually recording a new HP during a flight, and on the bench, it doesn't seem to be responding the way the new v1.24 A2 Manual indicates it should, if I'm understanding it correctly. I did not do any of this manual HP recording under the v2.6 FW, so I don't know if this is the same behavior I would have seen before upgrading to v2.7.

I have my 3-position switch configured as per Option A in the chart on pg 34. In this config, Pos 1 is Off, Pos 2 is CL and Pos 3 is HL.

If I am understanding correctly, the table in "Step 2 Forward Direction, HP and POI Recording" indicates that to manually record/change the FD, I toggle 3-5 times between pos 1 & 2. If successful, I should see 20 green LED flashes. To record/change the HP, I toggle 3-5 times between Pos 2 & 3. If HP record is successful, I should see 20 violet LED flashes.

I am powering on the radio then the system and waiting until GPS locks in (I'm indoors, so it takes a while). At ~36 seconds I get ~20 rapid green flashes. This should indicate FD has been automatically recorded. Once I have had 7 or more satellites (no red flashes) for longer than 10 seconds, I start the motors and raise the throttle to 50% (yes, props are off). This should automatically record the HP. I then have 1 violet LED flash indicating GPS ATTI mode, then 5 violet LED flashes indicating I am within 8 meters of the HP. Perfect so far.