Problems after F550 heavy lift conversion

Hey guys. Just found this forum and I'm glad I did. So I've been flying my f550 for a few months with zero issues. I bought it used and the gains were set up beautifully. Very smooth machine.

So now I want to add a gimbal and start flying something a bit heavier than a gopro. So I bought AVROTO motors and the arm extensions for the 550. I'm still using the dji esc's.

Ok so here is the problem. The throttle seems to go crazy at about 75%. When I say crazy, I mean it ramps way up, the copter does a front flip and goes down. The first time it happened on launch. A couple of the motor wires came out during the crash. I attributed it to bad cheap carbon props that maybe vibrated a wire loose. On my second attempt, I replaced the props with APC's that I first balanced. I also dialed the gains way down per advice from the hobby store clerk. This time it launched fine. It flew a little wobbly but wasn't far off. When I went to give it some throttle for a quick climb, it made a loud noise, flipped upside down and crashed. Lost an arm and the top plate is done but otherwise looks ok.

I noticed that that both times this happened, it seemed like I lost all control. When it flipped during launch I immediately cut the throttle and attempted to stop the motors. It just kept going for a few seconds. Then when it happened in the air, I did the same thing but it just kept revving out of control.

I dunno, it was flying beautifully the day before I did the upgrade. Any ideas?

for reference..

old setup: f550 with red motors and 8" dji props. Dji 30a esc's. Pulse 4s 3700mah 45c packs. Naza-m GPS Dx8.

New setup: f550 with carbon arm extensions. Avroto 2814 770kv motors. Dji 30a esc's. APC 11x4.7 props. 3s 6300mah 25c packs. Naza-m gps. dx8

While I am fairly new to MR, I've been flying RC planes for 12 years. So I know my way around balancing props, soldering stuff, and of course, crashing!!