Please recommend programmable drone with camera, under $1,500

max2me

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to drones but this whole field seems very interesting to me :)

I'm looking for a drone that:
- Is fairly stable & easy maneuverable
- Can carry GoPro (if it already doesn't have camera for video recording)
- Has SDK I can use to control it's flight automatically either based on a template or video stream drone will send to the ground station
- Is fun flying when controlled manually
- Within $1,500 budget

I dont have any particular uses in mind but I'm curious about bunch of different applications drones might have and also want to experiment with image recognition.

Phantom Vision 2 seems like a good candidate but I dont think it has an SDK I could tap into.

Any recommendations are appreciated!
Thank you :)

--
Maxim

Last edited by a moderator:

In addition to your MR c/w FC etc. and RC Radio system you would have to add some additional hardware such as the IPad Bluetooth GCS or the following:
http://www.dji.com/product/pc-ground-station. Either way you would have to spend more money beyond the $1500.
The other add-on item is the iOSD module that has a SD card built in to it but you can't remove it and you can't modify the proprietary firmware to do what you are asking.

W. Reimer

PeterLester has hit things pretty dead-on. Perhaps a year from now, you'll be able to accomplish your needs for $1500, but today...I'm guessing around $1800. minimum, realistically $2000-2200.