Phantom Mode vs NAZA-M

harens

I am new to quad-copters. I have about 2 hours total time on a Blade qx 180. I recently purchased a DJI Phantom 2 plus. I loved the fact that it had a "mode" IOC that allowed me to move the phantom with the stick relative to my position no matter which direction the drone was pointed. That is very useful to me in that I cannot always see which way it is pointed.

However, after reading the manual, it appears that the IOC mode is only available if I configure the my phantom 2 vision (via pc assistant) in NAZA-M mode vs the default Phantom mode. There are all kinds of warnings to me that I should not do this unless I am an experienced pilot which I am not. This IOC mode (Intelligent Orientation Control) would seem like a feature that an beginner would want to use. My question: Does someone know of a description on the differences in the two modes (my manual only discusses Phantom mode). I would like to know if I could just change the mode to NAZA-M and leave all the selections alone other than IOC and still be OK as a beginner. I called DJI and they do not have any comparison documentation or pros and cons. Can someone point me in the right direction or give me advice on this?

harens

I have an update. Spent about 30 minutes flying the Phantom and it was great. The ability to hover in place makes all the difference in the world to me. Perhaps I will not need the IOC as bad as I thought. Still would like to use that facility though. I spent a few hours yesterday viewing all the Youtube videos I could find on the subject and even though I now know more about the features, none of them explained how the NAZA M mode can get me into trouble that I would not get into with the Phantom mode.

IM0001