Phantom 3 pro = call to reason

xahhax

Today I received my Phantom 3 and did my first flights.

A bit about myself, I fly RC helicopters for years. I am a reasonable 3D pilot with thousands of flights.
My wife is a pro photographer, so using drones for taking pictures became kind of an obvious common interest.
But of course, my RC background would not let me think about buying a phantom. To me phantom = RTF = inconceivable. Using anything than my high end Futaba radio and trusting somebody with assembly, soldering etc was not an option.
So I started my drone journey with a F550 and a gopro. We took some good shots but it was a heavy pelican case to carry it around in airplanes, no option to remotely trigger stills or videos etc. Not ideal.
We also had a DJI S900/A2 with a Panasonic GH4 but there the pelican case option was not even considered and again no possibility to change camera settings remotely and yes, despite a great quality, in the end, it was quite a heavy logistic exercise to carry it around and boot it up for few shots.
Then a friend of mine gave me an Inspire 1 for a week-end and wow, this thing was super easy to get in the air, shoot, transport.
I did a bit of googling and realized that the Phantom 3 Pro had pretty much the same camera and was even smaller so I got a backback+second battery combo from DJI.COM and all I can say is wow, this thing is amazing.
We will carry it everywhere.
It's a bit like the question "What is the best camera" and the answer "the one you have with you when you need it" (and today that would be a smartphone for most people even DSLR owners...)
It is just so easy to set it up, fly, monitor the framing, land. Great flight time...you owners know the drill.