Phantom 2 FPV

Hi guys, I'm new to multirotors and fpv and recently bought a phantom 2 with zenmuse gimble...I have a gopro 3 black edition that I would like to use for pictures and video and also for fpv...my question would be what do I need for a good setup for fpv with stock phantom transmitter that would give me good range and I'm looking to go with a monitor rather than goggles? I was thinking on immersion rc for transmitter and the black pearl dual diversity 7" screen....do I need anything else or is this a good system? All recommendations appreciated. Thanks for your time guys.

chipwich

Hey Kellershark, believe it or not the Phantoms are relatively easy to setup for FPV. I've got v. 1, but I helped my brother with version 2. Both of us are running the H3-2D gimbal. It's easier with the 2 because you don't need to install the upgrade board for the gimbal. I am running the Fat Shark 250 mw 5.8 transmitter and using a GoPro 3 blk for fpv and recording. Some folks don't like this arrangement, but for LOS it really simple and mine has been reliable. The Flite Test guys all said that they use their GoPros for LOS fpv as well.

With my setup, I've found that the video and RC begin to reach their limits at about the same range if you have good video antennas. Actually, I've had my Phantom go into Failsafe and begin coming home before I completely lost video one time, but was able to regain control a min or two later. If you want to run a monitor, I'd buy the biggest one your pocketbook can afford with the 8" being the bottom end. I use Attitude SD goggles and an 8" monitor coming with an Immersion Uno VRX, or just the goggles. I like the 250 mw, trying to keep my radios from stepping on each other, but my brother's 600 mw Fat Shark VTX does seem to have a little more range.