Noobie Needs Help with Soldering.

RobertsUp

Hi. I studied UTube videos for hours today. I learned some things. I need to avoid silver solder for one thing. I'm trying to create the battery connectors to my F450 Distribution Board. The 12 gauge battery wire stripped ends are too large to fit into my XT60 female connectors.

I tried out my soldering station yesterday. It works fine. I have the helping hands and more but my soldering efforts failed.

I last soldered anything fifty years ago when I was a teen.

Once I've applied and burned flux to the XT60 connectors they don't seem to accept any tinning. I think my problem is with my solderiing techniques and tip size.

Good thing I ordered lots of XT60 connectors to learn on. I've already ruined and thrown out two pair. My first attempt yesterday was an utter failure. Melted part of the plastic and the solder never bonded to the connecter. After cooling the wire pulled right out. Even twlsting with fingers the 12 gauge wire is hard to insert into the XT60 connector female. I need the XT90 connectors, I think.

I have XT90 connectors on order from a HS in Spain. Nobody else out of China has 'em.

I thought I had my wire connected solid into the positive side of the XT60 but as soon as it cooled down the wire wasn't connected at all. 12 and 10 gauge wires don't seem to be able to fit into the XT60 connectors.

I think I just need more learning about soldering. Dunno.

Last edited by a moderator:

Bison52