New to multi rotor's and need direction.

cue

I am Deputy for a County in Oklahoma and I am wanting to build a quadcopter for use at work. Searching areas for people or getting a birds eye view of an area to develop an entry plan to property. This will be personally owned, so it will be for my enjoyment also. Since it will be me that funds this, I have to keep cost down. I don't necessarily have a budget but $1000.00 is the max that I want to spend. Lesser is better. I need a 30 minute flight time and FPV. 1 mile range would be great. I have a Bachelors in Electronics and a background in RC stadium trucks and airplanes. More experience in nitro than electric. Dabbled in Helicopters briefly. I have a Futaba T7CHP tx, and several misc items related to the past hobbies I've had. Its doubtful that any of my servos would work for this application. I am absolutely interested in building my own. Especially if it will keep cost down.

Would someone please help me develop a plan and/or parts list? Will my Tx work? I would love to keep this under $500. Is that possible?

Thank you for the help.

Hi Cue

Like it or hate it the DJI phantom vision pretty much meets all your requirements. I am not dis encouraging you from DIY infact I usually promote it but this maybe a good option to look at.

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
Welcome to the forums Cue. The phantom is indeed a great choice and does tick pretty much all of your needs. With that said however, I would perhaps go for a DJI 450 or 550. These are simple kits you need to build but because they can be built you can customize them a bit more. The thing to do is not jump in head first but read up a lot here and they you can make an informed decision.

cootertwo