Multirotot Aerial Photography

urbatect

Hello, first of all I am completely new to this, with no experience with flying machines like this. I do have some background in photography though, and my goal is to start to take aerial photos used for ground textures and matte paintings. Basically various grounds in computer games or architectural visualisations, or backgrounds in movies.

I am just in the beginning of the research phase of something that might be a multi year project, so I'm sorry if I ask rookie questions here. I will also read through this forum and various other websites to learn more, but to start it off I have some broad questions.

Is a multirotor such as draganfly good for this purpose, or can I get away much cheaper elsewhere?

I assume the more rotors the more stable and better lifting power? I don't plan to use any monster large lenses, but it sure would not hurt to have the ability to.

Is there any websites around that specifically targets my niche?

Again sorry if this is common knowledge that I should be able to fins easily myself. I'll probably edit this post with a lot more specific questions as I learn more.

Regards,
Erik

jes1111

My humble opinions:

Draganfly has very low payload capacity and very high price tag - DIY or RTF from a builder is much more cost effective and you'll get a better machine that can lift more.

More rotors doesn't necessarily mean more stable or even more power - lots of other variables involved. It can mean more redundancy, i.e. safer flying, since 6 or 8 motors means you have a chance of landing it with one motor out.

This website is probably the best - highest concentration of serious AP users.

The general advice for someone in your situation is to start small - build a small machine to carry, say, a GoPro and get all your crashing over and done with before risking a big machine with a big camera.

Good luck! :)

RC Flying

A Drone Mind