Micro quad as training wheels

Rupe

Hello all

I'm thinking of putting together a hex (DJI F550) to take stills with. I have zero flying experience so I was thinking of getting a cheap (<£50) micro quad to practise with. Will I learn anything by doing this, or are the cheap ones hamstrung with dumbed down controls? I did wonder if I could buy the Tx I'll need to control the DJI and link it to the cheap quad, but this seems even less likely.

Thanks.

Rupert.

airship

hi Rupe
microquad usually have a built in receiver and you can NOT use it on other built, i think that you can learn to fly with the multi you have choice or the 450 model, it is a good starting point and will help you to understand how this machine are done.
have a look to the "group built" tread , it is a big source and a perfect start ... Imho
ceers
peppe

I think the F550 will be easier to fly than a micro Quad if you use a good FC. I use the Naza v2 in my F450 and it is easy and very stable. The micro Quad will be fun though.
I used a simulator on the PC with radio gear to learn to fly. If I crash the sim then no big deal.
Regards
Crispy

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
A lot of people have a great time with the Hubsan. I've not tried it but for a very cheap orientation practise type thing it sounds good.

jbrumberg