Learning to crash a new kind of flying machine

I've just joined as I'm currently trying to spec. up my first multi-rotor flyer.

I am a long in the tooth model flyer, most recently of electric gliders, slope soarers and combat wings. I've been building things for decades and can make electronics, program computers and hack models together, they aren't elegant but they fly... at least for a while until I get reckless.

I'm an experienced stills landscape photographer and have done some aerials and my ambition is to use a multi rotor to make aerial landscape photographs.

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Welcome aboard! I think you'll find plenty of folks around here who run the spectrum from DIY hackers to pros filming for the big screen. Always willing to lend a hand.

Have fun and fly safe!

An update, and a picture.

My ambition is to get a platform capable of flying a Sony A7RII for stills photography by the end of March 2016.

I do not expect to be a professional quality flyer by then, all I am hoping for is to fly that, take good stills and land it in a place far from any other person so with minimal safety worries for others at that time. The main risk will be to my wallet and pride. I need to get the camera to about 500'

What I've done since I joined in August is

1) Learned manual flying with a little indoor drone, largely manually, its supposed to be stabilised but hey... you have to be on its case continually with both sticks to keep it in the air. I'm still not entirely comfortable with rotating and flying it in every direction, so still learning, but its fun. The only problem is I'm banned from our highly suitable converted barn because it terrifies the cats.

2) Investigated how to remotely control the Olympus Air 01 camera.