How to start an aerial production business?

Chad Cervinski

So I've been flying for 3 years and have built multiple quads and spent lots of money on this hobby. I've been more into aerial and ground videos lately because my racing skills stink and I just love the technology. So I've been studying and reading all the 107 stuff and working on a portfolio of some projects and now I'm ready for that next step. I have no huge aspirations that my day job will immediately go away and I'll be fully self employed but I want to extend my creativity and perhaps make a few dollars.

So where does the average guy start? Start an LLC ? Get insurance ? I'm already signed up for my certification on September 3 so that's in the bag. Just how far does a small hobbiests wanting to move into the next level go? Seems like a lot of Jokers out here trying to sell insurance and classes...but nobody wanting to advance others for free...just another money grab. Thanks for any input ?

violetwolf

Great topic. Welcome to DroneVibes Chad.

There's a new professional drone section here. This might be a perfect thread for that section. I wonder if you or the mods could move it over there.. Nathan? (This seems like the type of thread we were talking about off-list where Pros could help new people into the industry.)

DroneTalk

R/C Expert
Staff member
Yes you need insurance, LLC, the ability to edit video and photos. Unfortunately anyone with a "drone" is now in the aerial photography business so you have a ton of competition , I spent 5 years building the business and gave up one it. I've been flying for over 30 years.

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator