Hoverfly Meeting with FAA

Str8 Up

The article gives the impression of FAA endorsement (ostensibly) when, upon closer review, a regional manager may have actually mearly said "knock yourself out". Please understand that I am in no way commenting in a negative manner on the need or virtue of what you are trying to do. It is just that I know there are always two realities - what gets printed, and what actually happened. What is missing here is what value this proposed certification might have from a legal perspective. Is it intended to fill the cavernous gap left by the AMA for sport flying only? Does it have any application to commercial uses? Personally I have been flying UAV's for over 30 years in a professional capacity. My insurance company is fine with giving me $10M third party liablilty and $100K equipment coverage. My clients are fine with my safety manual and resume. I would get zero tangible benefit from attending this school, so, why would I? Are there some other hidden benefits? Also, I recall several years ago, an organization called RCAPA that proposed basically the same exact thing, and got nowhere with it. How is this different?

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
I think we are all lucky to have Hoverfly on our side. They clearly have a channel to the FAA and the media and have claimed a title for our industry that excludes the word "Drone." Hopefully the momentum they have started with ARIA will continue to grow. These things take small steps and time. Also keep in mind there are thousands of FAA reps. one may say "sure, just keep things on the down low" while another rep may say "Hell no, not on my watch!" Most importantly, we need to keep this flood of Phantom purchasers flying smart and prevent any major incidents from happening. Support your local manufacturers! After all, they are supporting you a lot more than China ever will.

Thank You Hoverfly

jcmonty

Awesome, Al. I think this is a big positive step forward.