Help on selecting a FPV / OSD system for Iris +

brocour

Hello,

This is my first time posting to this or any UAV forum and I am excited that I am doing so!

I just placed an online order for the Iris + by 3D Robotics. I am looking for both a FPV and OSD setup for it. I did not pull the trigger on the fpv system or the fpv/osd ones offered by 3D Robotics themselves after reading a few reviews on them.

I have been all over the net looking at every thing out there related to fpv and multicopter but there are sooo many different options i have to admit that i get lost on what will work best for my Iris + and is worth the price too.

I am using this system with a GoPro Hero 4 to do aerial photography 3d Photogrammetry, structure review and whatnot. I need a FPV setup that will use the GoPro for the view. (I believe it is best to use it vs adding another still camera on the front and battery for it from what i have been ready on FPVs).

I would also like an OSD system as well for obvious safety reasons.

I do own a Nexus 7 2nd gen I assume i will be using it for the droidmission planner app and should not also use it for the fpv system.

I am open to both the idea of a monitor style system or a goggle type system, but feel the goggle will be a lot more and i should go for a monitor style for now. If possible an HD feed would be best; this way i can show other people live what the uav is seeing on the monitor if applicable. I am sure i can down the road upgrade to a system that will allow both a live feed on goggles and on a monitor at the same time?!?

The less I have to cut and solder the better, for I have read on dozens of posts were people have blown out the electronics due to accidents while hacking their systems via soldering.

Again, i did not go with the LiveView FPv or the FPV/OSD modules that 3d Robotics offered because i have read that they are over priced for what i get in return when i can end up getting much better for less.