Hello, everyone!

CinArts

A great big hello to everyone!

I've been lurking for a few weeks and have really enjoyed and appreciated all the posts and great info. I hope to be able to make a contribution soon.

I'm a former professional cinematographer (IATSE & ACFC) from Canada starting an aerial cinematography business in India. I've flown RC helis (hobby only) for a few years and I'm absolutely going nuts over the decision to buy my first multirotor.

Thanks for all the great threads for newbs like myself!

If anyone has advice or thoughts on a gimbal and multi for a Sony a7s ii, I'd be very glad to hear them.

Also very happy to provide advice on cinematography.

Cheers!

Kevin

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Welcome to Multirotorforums.com Kevin!

Sounds like you are off to a good start with your background in film and RC. Have you been practicing with a small quad or simulator yet?

There are some newer gimbals out there getting good results with the Sony (Gremsy, Infinity) and the price just dropped for the Movi. Depends on budget really.

Do you have a AV/P rig design developed yet?

What are the regulations like in India?

Have fun and fly safe!

Scott

CinArts

Yo, Scott! (I used to live in Bay Ridge)

Thanks for the warm welcome. No, haven't been practicing with small quad but I will as soon as I can - any suggestions would be most welcome. I have a heli sim but that's sitting in storage in Montreal.

I'm liking the Gremsy H3 a lot and I'm hoping I win the monthly Movi draw :p

Getting a rig in India is... difficult. India has very restrictive rules for importing Tx, and crazy high import duty and taxes. Most good gear costs 50% more than in USA IF you can get it here at all. Each Tx model has to be independently tested and then approved by gov't - all at mfr's expense. Many suppliers won't ship here period.