First Build - Tarot 680 Pro Hybrid Hexacopter, build advice welcome!

BrandonHtwo0

Hi everyone!

Been lurking the forums, and a couple of people have gotten me really interested in building my own multirotor. I have some flying experience with quads, however this will be my first build and first hexacopter.

The goal of my build is to have this as a primarily FPV/Arial Video craft with a long flight time and plenty of available thrust for lifting toys every once in a while (like dropping a water balloon, or carrying a bottle of water a short distance, for instance). The bulk of the flight will be using a GoPro Hero 3+ Black Edition, a Tarot 2D 2-Axis gimble, a relatively lightweight FPV setup (board camera, tx, antenna), a set of retracts, and maybe some miscellaneous lighting.

My planned parts list is:

ComponentSpecific
FrameTarot CF 680 Pro Hex Frame (Hybrid using 680 arms for 15-inch props)
MotorsSunnySky V5308-20 KV580
Speed ControllersDYS Simon K 30A Opto ESC V2
PropellersCarbon Fiber 15x4 (Pair)
Flight ControllerNaza-M V2 w/ GPS Combo
TX/RX (Radio)FrSky X9D Taranis Radio w/ Case
Battery / BatteriesZippy 8000mah 25C 4S (2P)
Battery ChargerTBD
CanopyTarot CF 680 Pro Canopy
GimbalTarot 2-axis Gimbal / Carbon
CameraGoPro Hero 3+ Black Edition

By using the Tarot 680 arms on a Tarot 680Pro frame, I'll be able to support up to 15-inch propellers. I've seen people post similar builds, but they are using a 15x5.5 prop which appears to put me over the max wattage the 3508S-20 580 can support. Also, based on my calculations, it looks like it may even be best to leverage a 14-inch propeller instead of a 15 inch just to keep high-load efficiency more in line.

This build (either 14inch or 15inch) should be able to get me somewhere around mid-20 mins of flight time with plenty of available thrust for lifting some heavier things occasionally. It is also likely my all-up weight will change slightly as I add in some misc items like lighting.