Fast ascent causes quad to bank and pitch. Need help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maverick

I've been flying my DJI WK-M X650 v4 for some time now. All be it fairly docile and not aggressively. As my confidence grows, I try pushing it that little bit harder, and there's no problem, apart from one thing - when I give it more throttle suddenly, not gradually, it tends to not go up in a straight line, but banks off to the right a little, and pitches back a little. I'm using torxpower 900kv motors, with Graupner 10"x5" props. All are perfectly balanced, as it hovers excellent in ATTI, and holds excellent in GPS HOLD, and video is smooth also. The CG is also perfect, so I'm wondering is it something to do with my vertical gains...??? I've only flown in ATTI & GPS ATTI modes, as I trust them. I tried MANUAL once, and the quads altitude dropped very fast, so that freaked me out, and I never tried it again. (Is this normal?)
If its of any relevance, I have an AeroXcraft GoPro gimbal mounted, powered by a separate CC BEC, and controlled by the WK-M.
As I said, if I fly calmly, and don't do anything mad, there's no problem, but, sometimes I'd just like to do a bit more fast dynamic flying, and at the minute, I'm limited.
Any advice folks...???

Mav.

kloner

Aerial DP
is this 3s or 4s? whats the AUW? what are your gain numbers like?

do you have any footage that we can hear the motors running?

matwelli

It always shoots off in the same direction ? Check your esc endpoints. Slo flying the fc has time to compensate, hit the throttle and it won't have a chance. A weak motor will also do the same (uneven thrust)

Maverick

is this 3s or 4s? whats the AUW? what are your gain numbers like?

do you have any footage that we can hear the motors running?

Sorry for the delay in my reply. Time difference - bed time.

It's 3S. The AUW is 1.969KGS. Autopilot gains are :

Basic Gain : pitch & roll are 110% ; Yaw is 140% ; Vertical is 135%

Attitude Gain : both 70%