AerialMediaPros.com F550 with Naza + DX8+AR8000 Set up

highflyer

Hello,
I am very new to the forum world, as well as to the RC world of Helis.

I have just finished building the F550, and getting started on the programming of the radio, though watching the video on PitchBitch helped a great deal, it didn't cover the options on the setup of the DX8, ie the basics of what options to get started with.

Like, Heli or Plane, and all the addition setup parameters. Like I said, I am very new to all of this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
A

tppeng

for Naza, without GPS, you need two position switch to select between Atti and Normal flight modes, and it can be perfectly done on the Gear Channel with gear switch.

for Naza, with GPS, same as WK-M, you need a three position switch to select between GPS, Atti, and Manual flight modes. Since you generally want to find that switch easily, you may use F Mode, FLAP switch for that channel. To do so, you first make sure you selected your model, and then hold the scroller while turning on Tx power. You should be able to find "Switch Selection" menu. In there, you disable Gear Switch (by default it controls Gear Channel), then you may scroll to either F Mode or FLAP switch, there you should have gear channel controllable.

Once that has done, while plug in your FC to computer, you should be able to flip the switch you assigned and see the change in travel of U Channel (Flight Modes). You might noticed it's not triggering to Manual and GPS but only Atti, that is because the travel range is too great on Gear channel. Limit the travel down to where you can trigger both of them.

On to Fail-safe, you basically need a two way switch to alter your Gear channel travel, to do such, go to your Mix function on DX8, scroll to Mix1, and then here are the settings:

GER > GER
Rate: -50%
-50%
Offset: 0%
Trim: INH
Sw: Mix1