Extremely low flight times on FPV quad

Hello, I'm fairly new to this RC multirotor scene (RC stuff in general as well), and I've recently build my first FPV quad (lacking the FPV gear as of now) from a kit. It's been over a month, and I'm still working out issues with the quad. I've gotten it to run, but not for long.

The flight times I've gotten are ridiculously low. Just hoovering about 7ft off the ground, the flight times average at 25 sec on one battery to 41 sec on the other (I will post the info of my tests as an attachment). From what I understand, those times are abysmal to say the least. I'm running with 5x45 props with SunnySky X2204S 2300kv motors.

I did notice that the quad is wobbling a tad when hoovering, so that leads me to believe that the props are the issue, but I'm not really too sure. The frame was put together fine, and everything is snug and fit on well, so I can only reason that the issue is bad props or bad batteries.

If anyone can help out, that would be fantastic. If anyone needs more info I'll be happy to post it with the best of my ability.

Attachments

• batteries.png
    batteries.png
    3.8 KB · Views: 451

F

fengshuidrone

Your 1300 mah batteries should last way longer than they are. What do you charge them with? If they are being balanced properly you should get more flight time. If one cell is way off from the rest they wouldn't charge right. If you are using a sub par crap cheapo charger from HK, that could be a part of the problem. I would first check to see if all my cells are balanced and are charging fully. If all of that is fine I would be looking for a dead short somewhere in your 11.1v wiring. Do you get a big spark jump when you hookup your Li Po? The quad wobbling is usually a sign of PIDs out of tune (depending on what FC and firmware you use.) Of course I don't know your AUW, what FC you use, or almost any other tidbit that might help.

Last edited: