Dji f550

Alxste

Hi, I'm Alex, I'm fairly new to this but I was hoping I could have a question answered about the DJI F550.

It's a 6 rotor helicopter. It costs £219.00 and I can't work out what else I will need. At the bottom of the order page it has some addition items to add... These are "kit specification" (kit / ready to fly), "battery option" , "charger option" , "autopilot" , "transmitter" and "receiver". Now I understand I will need the battery, charger, transmitter and receiver in order to get it flying but what I am unsure of is the GPS system or "autopilot". I intend to use the F550 for fun purposes and filmography / photography. I want to get some smooth areal panoramas, pans and other kinds of shots of areas such as BMX dirt jumps, racing events and beaches etc...

I do t really want to have to spend a minimum of £200 pounds on a GPS system if I can get away without seeing as I'm young and the funding of already £400 is going to be coming out of a Saturday job around school times so £600 is going to be serious money for me. My main question is, is the GPS a crucial element in multi rotor flying or can I get away without?

Thanks a lot guys, Alex.

Beachbum55

CoolAir
Yes, you can get away without the GPS, but you better be flawless with your control. I would suggest waiting (and keep working) till you can afford the GPS. Be patient, and good luck.

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
Hi there. If your just beginning then GPS is a great tool for learning. If you lose sight of it or lose video just stop and the craft sits there waiting for you to finish your cup of tea. It's not essential though and you can start without GPS and get it later. It would help you down the road getting some manual mode flying at the start as its a good skill to have.

Cool?

PeteDee

Mr take no prisoners!
Cost wise it is best to get the GPS as part of the Naza package rather than buying it later, the pricing on GPS only seems to be completely stupid.