Could I trouble one or more of you experienced pilots to help educate me a bit??

javaboy

I'm a relative novice to the field and I do try to pay attention to what you experienced pilots say here on this forum. I've learned a great deal but I find myself with a few areas of information that I really would appreciate getting up to speed. Hopefully, your answers will also help other newbies who come across this thread. Here goes:

LIPO DEPLETION:

1) I've seen a general rule often stated to not go below 20% of your batter capacity. I note that after I land and shut down the battery voltage will rise. Is the goal to leave your battery with 20% or more AFTER landing and removing the current load? Or, is the 20% a guideline you use as the maximum drop in voltage while you are flying?

2) In that regard, I have read about the Quanum Telemetry system that shows you all cells of your battery. The information posted on the HobbyKing site says: "The Quanum Telemetry system will also warn you when your battery pack is approaching 3.2v per cell with a variable audio tone. No more deadstick landings!" Is it prudent to use the value of the lowest cell as your measuring stick, or do you use the total voltage of the system as the value you watch? I would assume some cells deplete sooner than others so that the system average would often be higher than the lowest cell value (?)

3) I have also read two posts from seemingly knowledgeable pilots who flatly state that modern batteries can go below the 20% (I believe one guy uses 10%). Are there any current studies that address this issue objectively?

LED STRIPS

1) I have gotten some LED strips from HobbyKing that take 12 volts. Do most people power LEDs from the flight battery and, if so, how do most people step down the voltage? (BEC or simple resister circuit?)