Beginner Seeking Advice [Aerial Film/Photo]

PCMAerial

Hey Guys,

First post here! I've read a few stickies, and tried to scour the internet for as much info as possible. And now I'm at my crossroads to entering the multi-rotor world. Currently I am a filmmaker with over 11 years of cinematography experience. Looking to combine my passion with a solid craft for aerial video/photography.

Purchasing my new rig is based on two factors:
1.) Budget
2.) Build Quality

I would LOVE a superior octo rig in the thousands with a huge payload for an EPIC, etc, etc. But in reality. I am looking for a rig around the $500-$750 range if that sounds realistic. Something simple-ish (Quad or Hex) that I can eventually or hopefully upgrade the build, flight time, etc using the same frame. Mostly looking at Heli Pal website for my purchase.

Planning to start flying a GoPro Hero3+ to gain the proper experience. And in time upgrade to a gimbal to hold a DSLR (5d MkIII) or a smaller camera such as the GH series for commercial use if the payload isn't there yet.

My two MAIN rig choices:
-DJI Flamewheel F550 V2.0 (Naza Lite) (Around $400 for rig, and a few hundred on controller, battery, etc)
OR
-Storm Drone 6 GPS (Around $700 "RTF" )

-The DJI I'll have to purchase transmitter, receiver, etc, etc
-The Storm says ready to fly minus some assembly which I don't mind. And already has a controller

So I'm wondering...

Am I even looking in the right direction? Anyone with proper facts about either of these rigs? After tons of research I always end up comparing these two rigs at the end of the day. Now I'm ready to take one or the other. The community here has some great advice, please any comparisons or hands on experience would be great! I am a beginner so I may not know what I'm talking about at all LOL. Thanks for reading!!

chipwich