Another question about reliability that I am almost scared to ask

Because I really don’t want people to get into arguments but only because I am interested in safety. I am relatively new to this sport and am just trying to ascertain as much info as I can before continuing to fly. (At this point, I am scared of flying.) As my user name implies I did have an AR drone that experienced two fly aways, I did everything properly or at least I thought I did including following the manual, using the latest firmware, making sure I was not around wifi or cell towers, but they still that happened. The second time I grounded the thing permanently. It could have been catastrophic as it was headed for a major highway (a mile away) and thank goodness some wonderful tree caught it some 50 feet before the highway. It was one of the older versions so maybe that may have been corrected by now. I could have easily found myself in a horrible situation had it not been for that wonderful pine tree.

Now that I have a Phantom 2 V2 I made a written check list according to the DJI manual and use it prior to each flight to hopefully negate any bad things from happening. Since I am really only familiar with this Phantom, I have read about it dropping from the sky, Naza control problems, battery fires and the like.

I know unforeseen circumstances can happen with any device under RC control. But in a purely opinion based question, is there one system of the Phantom 2 size that would provide the most reliable operation? Should I stop using Naza for control?

I feel like I am asking a loaded question but really am not. I know there will be many differing answers. Again please let’s stick together and not get into a mine is better fight. There is already enough discord in the world right now. I just want to do the most I can to maintain the safety of the hobby. Thank you for your understanding. Seasons greetings to all.

Old Man