Advice on rig to deploy shark fishing bait offshore

antsrealm

Hi,

I'm completely new to drones and looking to get some advice / direction on trying to achieve my goal of dropping a fishing bait of approx 2kg at a distance of around 500m offshore.

I would like to have a autonomous setup that can respond to GPS marks. Simpy take off, fly out, drop the cargo and fly back to the launch point.

Is this achievable and what sort of drone / hardware should I be researching?

I was thinking an octo was the type I'd need.

How sure can I be the drone wont decide to crash into the ocean? Obviously reliability will be a big factor here.

I appreciate any advice you can give me.

Thanks,

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
Hi mate,

I'd give the autonomous bit a miss and just do it manually.

The problem will be getting your aircraft to stay stable when you drop the 2kg weight as the weight difference before and after is quite large.

How about a ground mounted air cannon type thing? Or a little radio controlled boat? A fixed wing aircraft might be good also.

I guess a DJI S1000 with waypoints would work. You'd probably have to initialize the drop mechanism manually when it reaches the point.

Make sure your centre of gravity (CoG) is spot on, so batteries and bait all dead centre.

Any help?

antsrealm

Hi mate,

I'd give the autonomous bit a miss and just do it manually.

The problem will be getting your aircraft to stay stable when you drop the 2kg weight as the weight difference before and after is quite large.

How about a ground mounted air cannon type thing? Or a little radio controlled boat? A fixed wing aircraft might be good also.

I guess a DJI S1000 with waypoints would work. You'd probably have to initialize the drop mechanism manually when it reaches the point.

Make sure your centre of gravity (CoG) is spot on, so batteries and bait all dead centre.

Any help?