4K, the future standard

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
With all the talk of new "4K" cameras I set out to learn a little about it. I had originally thought it was a data throughput standard, like a bandwidth to the recording media or sorts but I was wrong! Here's an article that explains it pretty well. The key point I think for those of us to never produce for the "Big screen", video recorded in 4K and then reduced for upload and display on the internet will ultimately look better than video shot straight onto lesser formats. I'm not an expert here, just trying to work my way through it so I leave this discussion for the experts to weight in.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4K_resolution

Bart

kloner

Aerial DP
the need for 4k is the whole reason we have to fly reds........ all of ces was about 4k tv's again so yea, it's coming like a freight train.

you know how you only need so many megapixel to make a decent looking picture, but if the megapixel is higher the picture jut looks clearer...... this is a lot like that even now but soon the 1080 stuff won't have any value in markets we deal with. the reds isn't even enough not being 4 4 4 like alexa. i think the epic is 4 2 2 and a hero is 4 2 1 but only 15 fps...

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast