3D Printed Drone for indoor temperature Monitoring - Advice Please

Tak-chi Ho

Hello!

I've recently started a project which involves designing, manufacturing and programming a 3D Printed Drone (Quadcopter) for use in indoor temperature monitoring.

I plan to begin this project by producing a simple system where a temperature sensor is onboard the quadcopter, and the reading is transmitted to a tablet/android phone. Ideally I would also like it to be controlled using a tablet/android phone.

Since I'm extremely new to the process of designing a Quadcopter I was hoping for some advice on some topics which I'm unsure about...

Flight Controllers for temperature measuring

There is a large variety of Controllers available, but I'm unsure as to which boards have the capacity to add a temperature sensor onto it, and which have the capacity to relay this reading to a tablet?

i.e How do I know if a flight controller is suitable for me? What features should I look for?

Does anyone have any recommendations on which flight controllers might be suitable for this application?

Indoor Positioning

From preliminary research around the topic of indoor positioning, it seems as if accurate indoor positioning is difficult. I'm hoping to eventually be able to produce a drone which can automatically produce 2D or even 3D heat maps of an indoor space, but accurate positioning is required... are there are affordable methods for accurately gauging position in an indoor GPS denied region?

Tablet/Android Control

Can any flight controller be programmed to be controlled using a tablet/android? If not, what is required on a flight controller which allows for this setup to be viable?

Hope my questions aren't too blindly obvious!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hoki