DJI "NEW" 10" Props

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
My question is how do you know your going to need 10" rather than 8"?

Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead

Trial and error or experience from someone who's already done it. There are too many factors to be able to say one will work where the other one won't. Weight is a huge factor and will help determine prop size and if your model is heavy, bigger props will be required versus the opposite. 10" on a stock F550 is probably fine with 3S but I hear with 4S you should use 9" but I have no experience with that personally. I fly an F550 with 750Kv motors and 10"x5 APC props that I balance to as close to perfect as I can. Hope that helps...

I am worried that the proper balancers don't all work. I have two not very expensive ones and they don't even come up with the same results. Do you think getting a more expensive prop balancer makes a big difference? What prop bouncers are you guys using?

Thanks, Tony

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
I am worried that the proper balancers don't all work. I have two not very expensive ones and they don't even come up with the same results. Do you think getting a more expensive prop balancer makes a big difference? What prop bouncers are you guys using?

Thanks, Tony

Tony, it has a lot to do with the way you put them on the balancer too. In my opinion they are all pretty much the same. The key is if the shaft is straight that the prop sits on and if there is as little resistance as humanly possible. You need it to spin freely and then you can balance it from there. You don't have to be perfect, just as close as you can make it. It is not just a skill, it takes some finesse. Make 110% sure that your prop is on the balancer perfectly, if it's off you won't balance right. I spend about 10-15 minutes per prop but I'm over-the-top, it probably is more like 5 minutes but I prefer perfection I guess...

Last edited by a moderator:

helloman1976