The "X-I" shaped frame - Something a little different

thothtp

So I am new to multirotors, but have been browsing the forums and reading everything I can for a while now. I have decided that I want to jump in to building one, and I want one stout enough that I can haul a go-pro camera now, and possibly upgrade to full FPV later. I was originally going to go with a bought frame, but being an industrial designer and mechanical engineer by career, with a full prototype shop at work, I decided that designing and building my own would be more fun/rewarding, and tailor it exactly to my needs.

I started thinking about the basic H or X frames, but the H frames worried me with their tendency to twist flex and transmit vibrations, and the X frames had the problem of the props being visible in the video.

So I had the idea to combine a simple X frame with a separate lightweight center frame (the I in the X-I name) to move the camera forward and the battery backwards, and to have that whole frame be heavily isolated from the motor booms for vibration resistance.

Theoretically, by mounting everything heavy and sensitive to a single frame structure, and then isolating that from the main motor/boom structure, it should provide extra vibration damping, while still being light weight and stiff.

That's the theory at least, so here are the pictures.

X-Iconcepttp1_zps67e5ef2c.jpg

The main boom arms are home depot towel bars, while the plates making up the rest of the frame are 1/8in polycarbonate sheet, to be upgraded later to G-10 or CF. The rest of the hardware are off the shelf standoffs screws and washers from Mc-Master Carr (or the supply room at work)

X-Iconcepttp2_zps50c2bffe.jpg

The go-pro and battery are hung below the main frame, keeping the weight on the dampened section to help absorb any vibration that makes it through the rubber washers.

X-Iconcepttp3_zps6770d7c4.jpg

The feet are splayed outward to help protect the props in a crash

X-Iconcepttp4_zpsceee234e.jpg