Hi, I'm a professional photographer want a multicopter for aerial photography

Giovanni59

29 years as a professional photographer specializing in architectural photography. For 15 years I have also been operating Blimp Cam, a helium filled 18 ft. blimp, teathered with remote control servos for tilt and pan. The blimp can go as high as 500 feet. Samples on my website, www.giophoto.com. Using a JR remote control, (FM) and streaming video down to an lcd screen for composition. Shooting with an old Canon rebel. Helium is getting very expensive and I needed to replace the expensive blimp every 2-3 years anyway so I thought I'd look into RC copters. I have no RC experience so these are my first steps. Any photographers want to throw anything out there as advice? I will probably join my local RC club and I have already been advised to get a simulator by Yuri. I will buy a small cheap copter to practice on as well. I'm considering the Storm Drone, http://www.helipal.com/storm-drone-ff-flying-platform-rtf.html I eventually want a platform that will support a d-slr, probably Canon although the Lumix has been highly recommended. I will eventually do video too since there are hundreds of golf courses in my area. Thanks and looking forward to getting to know you all.

Tethered commercial AP is permitted, commercial controlled flight in three axis is not by the FAA so I would hold onto the blimp for a bit and get some practice in.

matwelli

Without being silly. The us army I think did a tethered multi . Best of both worlds. Fly it as a multi to practice , and tie a fishing line to it when shooting commercially. With auto level it should hold position fairly well

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2

Yes and if it uses the tether for power it could sit for a while. It's not a silly idea it could be a great risk mitigator. I have thought it might be ideal for some of the silly platforms both you and I have built in the past Mat.

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast