Crashing Question

trec-r

I am pretty new to this hobby, although I have been researching for a while and flying cheap coaxial helis for awhile. Is it reasonable to be able to avoid crashing larger multirotors or should I expect that it just going to happen at some point? It seems that most crashes are due to lack of experience and equipment failure. I have a blade MQX coming soon to help get the experience. Can good maintenance and inspections cut out equipment failures that result in crashes? If a crash is imminent what can you do to limit the damage?

The main reason I ask is that I have heard people say that just expect to crash at some point. Do they tell commercial airline pilots the same thing? Just curios.

Richie

Dewster

Every multi rotor that I've had crashed due to one reason or another. I had a Draganflyer Ti (thermal intelligent leveling system) once. I crashed it twice. The first time was pilot error. I thought that I took off with it in Thermal Intelligent mode and expected it to hover. My second crash was when the folding props folded onto itself. Since it was a quad it immediately crashed.

Enter the world of DJI WKM. I built and flew an Xaircraft DIY hexa frame with the WKM installed. I had a lot of successful flights with my GoPro and Sony Nex 5n camera. My flights were without incident and no drama what so ever. So... not being content with a perfectly operating ship, I decided to "upgrade" to full carbon fiber props. Those props lasted five minutes before sending my craft down. I'm still kicking myself over that one because it flew without a glitch. My FPV equipment, gimbal, frame, two motors were gone. Luckily I didn't have my Sony Nex 5n onboard or the cost would have really totaled up. I was able to salvage my WKM, four out of six motors and four out of six DJI ESC (electronic speed controllers). I test flew the components on a DJI F450 quad to make sure that the parts worked before building my current craft: The Y6.