Powering the receiver without using a dedicated battery pack

Billzilla

I'm very new to the RC scene and am not sure how to power the receiver (Hitec Aurora radio gear with a 7-channel receiver) by using the main 4S battery pack. There's a power plug that comes off the little black box that the LED flashes from and goes into the Naza FC, I guess there's some kind of y-connector you can get to do it?
I'd like to get rid of the extra mass of the 4 AA battery pack if possible.

Billzilla

Just thinking ....... it's got a switch like this in it -

3wireswitch.jpg

That should do it ...... yes? The power from the black box/LED thing going into the female plug and one male connector goes into the Naza and the other into the receiver?

GotHeliRC

http://gothelirc.com
Hi Bill,

Your NAZA come with a voltage regulator already (VU), small black box with a small LED on it). That is what should be powering your Naza and RX at the same time. Hook this inline with your board.

Do not use that switch... that could intermit and cause a lock out.

Billzilla

Hi!
So how do I get power from the Naza to the RX? The only spare port I can see is the one marked 'EXP' in this diagram.
If that's the one then I just use a short cable to go from that port to the SPC port on the RX?

Attachments

• Naza.jpg
    Naza.jpg
    150.8 KB · Views: 240

Tomstoy2

The v-sen feeds power into the naza buss which then feeds power into the reciever thru the connection wires attached from the reciever to Naza.

Billzilla

So no need to plug anything into the SPC port on the RX? The RX gets power somehow else?
(The diagram in the radio gear manual seemed to show that power could be fed through the #3 servo port, but that didn't seem to make sense .... ?)

RCNut