F450 with NAZA vs F550

hjls3

New to this forum. Some great advice here. I am new to the hobby. Have lots of RC plane experience and some experience with heli's, mostly Blade 400. I am about to pull the trigger on multi rotor. Torn between, dx8 with F450 or F550 both with NAZA. I know some of you might not like this, but I am going to have Addictive RC build it for me and dial it in. I get the whole build it and learn about it idea, I am just really excited to get flying and want my first experience to be about flying, not about worrying about my tuning and dialing in skills.

Anyways, eventually if things go as planned and I really enjoy flying multi rotors, I would like to get hexacopter that could carry DSLR. For beginners sake, I wont be starting off with that. Should I go with F450 or F550.

THanks - happy flying - John

I also have been flying heli's (Trex600, 700...). Speaking as a rookie to multi rotors myself, I just purchased the F550 from John @ Addictive RC last week. My first multi rotor...ordered it last Tuesday and it arrived Saturday evening. I had it together by Sunday morning (took a couple hours to build). Took me a bit of reading and research to get the programming down and then had to wait for the weather to cooperate...finally, yesterday I got it off the ground! I only had time for a couple flights before the sun went down but I am very happy with how well it flew...very stable.

WillM

Everything else being equal, I would think the quad would be a better first rig. 2 less motors, props, escs, arms, etc., to break in the event of a crash!

Whatever you get, buy a few sets of extra props. Stick with the DJI's to start, as they are cheap compared to Graupners, etc. A set of DJI props is less than $10. Set of Graupners: $60.

hjls3