Erratic takeoff

srbell

I'm a mutirotor/DJI newbie so bear with me. I've got a WooKong M mounting in a Scarab Carbon Ysiix. On takeoff in Atti mode it's pretty sketchy. It wants to tip over so I need to apply a fair bit of correction. After it's a couple of feet in the air it's stable. Is this normal? I can get used to it, just wanted to check that maybe I'm missing something. I have my gain settings all at 100%. Thanks!

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
I've had this on all my helis so far. Its kind of a leap of faith. I have heard others not have this problem but I think part of is ground effect. It's not the same landing, you should be able to come down slow and smooth. Just hit the throttle hard enough to get it 3 feet in the air and you should be fine.

vislaw

I agree with IrisAerial (the 'leap of faith' comment made me chuckle). In my experience, when I lift off very slowly I'll often get a "roll or pitch" that requires correction due to the ground effect and/or the influence of part of the frame being in contact with the ground as the autopilot tries to stabilize. As you noted, once you are airborne everything settles quickly. I'm sure people more skilled than me can lift off "like butter" but I just "pop" it up pretty quickly to avoid the ground effect you describe.

Gunter

Draganflyer X4
Try take of from a level surface. If its slightly on the c0ck it's probably trying to level itself.

Regards,

Gunter.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

srbell

Thanks for the replies! That's kind of what I thought from heli experience. I've got a little cpx blade that requires you take off without any input what soever lol. That was a little hard to get my head around. Wouldn't want to do that with my trex 600 Though lol.

jffry7

aka TruckBasher