Hi From Cleveland Brisbane Australia

brewski

brewski
Hi Guys &Gals, I am relatively new to this fantastic hobby having flown a Bixler 1.1 previously as entry to RC. I got into multis at local club where some of the guys were bringing there homebuilt KK2 quads which flew badly & DJI quads that flew superbly but at 10 times the cost. Being an electronics engineer I decided I could build one & decided to go with Multiwii because I had already experimented with Arduino & loved it. I bought an EBay X525 kit that came with Crius 2.5 clone & got it flying with some help from the guys on Multiwii.com. I soon outgrew it & wanted more advanced features like those offered by http://eosbandi.com/downloads/ So swapped the Atmel328 FC for a Crius AIOP V2 AtMega2560 & added Ublox Neo6m GPS & external Mag. With addition of Bluetooth module & EZ-GUI on my Samsung S3 I can program quad (tune PIDS & set virtually anything I can on WinGUI) plus plan a Mission on map & see quad flying it in real time! The DJI Phantom guys are blown away as the quad cost under $250 & can do things that there $1000+ quads can only dream of:highly_amused: Cheers..B

dazzab

[MENTION=15932]brewski[/MENTION] - Now you sound like an Arducopter/Pixhawk kind of a guy. If you want lots of cool functionality and low price give it a go. And a lot of the code comes right here from Australia!

brewski

brewski
Was going to try the MP port of APM on my Crius AIOP but since the Eos Bandi release of MW2.3 Navib7 with same functionality as MP I am pretty impressed so far. I haven't even had to do all the fine tuning that MP requires as standard PID work great with my X525 hardware.

I didn't know that Arducopter code came from Oz. From little I've read it requires dedicated hardware correct?

dazzab

I didn't know that Arducopter code came from Oz. From little I've read it requires dedicated hardware correct?