Help building autonomous GPS quad

bda714

I am looking to build my first quad copter as a fully autonomous GPS system. I was looking at the pixhawk systems and am liking that but would appreciate any advice as far as that and the whole project goes.... I need to buy everything from the frame up and need reccomendations. This is my first quad-copter build and willl be used mostly for surveillance but I also need to be able to program it to fly to a pre determined destination, land, and return home either on command or after a couple minute timer. I am not a complete rookie however as I have been an r/c hobbyist for years but this will be first fully autonomous set up.... Thank you in advance for any offers of help!

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
you're about to embark on a long and sometimes difficult project. start out by building something simple so you can learn what the different components do and then work on adding capabilities as you develop the knowledge necessary to make things work. it would take us hours and hours in hundreds of posts to teach you everything that you need to know.

check out the Group Build thread for an idea of how to get started.

Hello, we have a drone development platform which allows for programming takeoff, autonomous flight, and land sequences. It's written in Python and you would use our API which makes it intuitive to do exactly what you said. Our hardware and software include the necessary components to execute your mission as easily as possible.
It also works on any drone form.
Please take a look.
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/raptorbirdrobotics/ravn-easy-drone-development

Av8Chuck

Hello, we have a drone development platform which allows for programming takeoff, autonomous flight, and land sequences. It's written in Python and you would use our API which makes it intuitive to do exactly what you said. Our hardware and software include the necessary components to execute your mission as easily as possible.