Noob with unresponsive ESC's/motors using WKM

blotto649

Hello multi-rotor lovers, I'm a newbie just wrapping up my first build and all has been good up until this problem which I just can't figure out. Hoping someone can help...

First, the kit

Droidworx SJ-6 frame
Wookong-M w/WKM Assistant (for Mac), everything on the latest software version
Plettenburg 15-20 motors
E-Flite 80A PRo V2 ESC's
Spektrum DX8/AR8000 Tx/Rx

In getting all the programming set up right, I've programmed each of the ESC's independently direct through the AR8000 and can confirm that all spin up on their own without the WKM in the chain. All Tx setup in the WKM app also came out well - joystick readings, compass and IMU settings, etc.

My trouble is coming from the motors - motor test through the WKM app does nothing, and all attempts with arming them via CSC when disconnected from the app fail - no action. LED activity from the WKM is normal, and upon power up of the system the ESC's beep correctly to notify of 6S Lipo, but there is a secondary chime to notify of "armed and ready" that I never hear when ESC's are connected through the Wookong. Any ideas?

Cheers!

gtranquilla

RadioActive
Speculating....
In addition to the configuration of all the ESCs parameters such a battery type, Cutoff voltage, Brake, Timing, Start-up mode, you also need to fix the throttle range limits of 0% and 100% using the throttle stick on your RC xmitter. Otherwise the ESCs don't know how to gauge their throttle position correctly and/or the speed hunts up and down when throttle is left in one position. WKM would not know how to handle that situation. But I never moved beyond WKM fw version 5.2 and remained with a PC using MS 7 OS.

Quinton

Have you also tried calibrating your transmitter in the software and doing compass calibration as it may not start if this has not been done.
Are you certain your LED is showing normal status?

blotto649