Hoverfly Beginner needs Mr. Wizard!

SquareD22

Here is the long story...
I am a high school teacher with NO experience in flying machines. I have an after school group that meets once a week to build robotic stuff...water, land....trying air.
Last year we bought a carbon fiber KarbonicX frame and all of the required hardware. I got an OpenPilot board with it....Never was able to get it to fly. Decided to try and make things a little simpler this year and got a HoverFly Sport board. With some trials and tribulations, finally we have it together, reprogrammed the ESCs (Cobra) along with Cobra motors. Have the Spektrum DX8 Transmitter.
Finally this week we got it operational...I guess sort of.
If I throttle up, I got straight into yaw, and sometimes clockwise, sometimes counter clockwise. If I juice it and actually take off, it spins and will go either right or left and crash.
Any help is VERY WELCOMED and if anyone is in the Newport, Rhode Island area and wants to lend some experience to this situation, that would be most welcomed as well!
Hey, I'm just a science teacher trying to inspire kids...
Thanks,

Scott

Toymaker

Crashologist
Smartass answer...Don't throttle up....LOL

Make sure you have the correct rotation on the motors based on what the controller is expecting. This will cause havoc and mayhem. If you have a way to hang the multirotor on a supportive wire/string/rope this can help debugging flight issues without crashing. kind of like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvame7QLWbo

SquareD22

OK, I will look at the video and see what I can do. I did put the appropriate props on the appropriate motors....according to directions, but I guess that is not necessarily what the controller expects. I did check to see that the air flow was going down when props were spinning....

Toymaker

Crashologist