Do I need a FPV setup or Is there something else I can use?

Hi All,

I’m so grateful for the wealth of information in these pages, thank you so much to everyone here.

Though I’m just getting into the hobby and am almost done with my first build Im already started to think about the shopping list for Phase 2!

So here’s where Im at right now:
F450
Naza v2 + GPS
2212 920kv motors
30a esc
3S 5000mah & 4S 4000mah battery (couldn’t choose, got both)
Taranis & x8r

I would like to add Gimbal and GoPro.
I will likely go for the Tarot 2d (as soon as I can find it in stock somewhere).

Here is my question:
I don’t really have a need to fly FPV, but I would like to frame my shots.
To I still need a full FPV set up? Or are there other options out there?

I ask because the FPV gear I see is all about range and clarity.
I can tolerate a laggy image and don’t need miles of range.
Again, I would just like to frame my shots and videos.

I know Phantom Vision uses Wifi.
Is there a similar kit for my needs?
Using the GoPro WiFi seems like a fantastic way to crash my kit.

If I have to go full FPV, can someone recommend a good cheapo rx/tx setup?

Thanks!
Chris

FlyGirl

First of all, this place is where I got my Tarot and it is in stock. http://www.rangevideo.com/en/gimbal...mera-gimbal-and-zyx22-controller-tl68a00.html

I would go FPV (and have! LOL) as it does help a lot to see where the camera is pointing at least somewhat. As far as WiFi, that's all on 2.4GHz which is what your transmitter uses. The Vision gets around that by using a proprietary transmitter/receiver combo that operates on 5.8GHz which is what most FPV systems transmit on. Crazy huh? Anyways, I would just keep it simple and go the standard FPV route which will work fine for your needs.

skquad

Just take the plunge and go fpv with goggles. You can use either a monitor or goggles but goggles are far more fun.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

PeteDee

Mr take no prisoners!