Training in the UK

Hi,

I'm a London based camera/Steadicam operator and would like an introduction to multi-rotor flying to see if it is something I'd like to pursue.

Does anyone know of any clubs or companies that offer training?

Many thanks,

Paul

Cheshirecat

http://uas.resourcegroup.co.uk/ These guy's provide structured CAA approved training on UAV's or for amore hands on flying approach there are companies like http://www.dronetraining.co.uk/training/
Although i believe the best approach is to buy an entry level system and just try it yourself to see if it hooks you, that why i bought a Phantom and then built a much bigger Skyjib X4 once the hooks were in and i got past hitting the ground and breaking stuff.
Where abouts in London are you?

Hi Cheshirecat,

Thanks for the info - very helpful indeed. I'm in Surbiton - I wonder if I could get way with taking a Phantom for a spin in Richmond park? With kitesurfing there is compulsory insurance you must have from to fly the kite - even on land - in many places. Is there any such insurance for drones, etc that you know of?

Cheers,

Paul

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
The problem with both Resource and EuroUSC training is that it doesn't really train you on flying- it is aimed more at the law and procedures.

The best way to get insurance is to join the BMFA in my opinion.

Dave Fisher will teach you to fly just google him.
Resource Group will teach you the law and get your permission.
Im not sure if the BMFA insure multi rotors ? Its still worth joining for the information you receive from them.

Cheshirecat

YEP BMFA membership is the way to go as you then at least have 3rd party insurance for a very reasonable cost.
I opted to do my tuning/practice flying at a proper RC helicopter flying club, no danger of upseting anybody that way.

Isn't Richmond a Royal Park? i wouldn,t fly in a Royal Park personally.

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?