FPV with Canon 5D3 shooting Raw - Possible??

Hi folks. I'm new here, in fact this is my first post. I hope I'm addressing this issue in the correct place.

I would like to shoot aerial video using my Canon 5D Mark III and view the camera's video via an FPV system. Picture quality for the final video is extremely important for what I need to do. The camera is currently set up to shoot RAW video using the Magic Lantern RAW software, and this is the way I need to shoot the vids. I mention the final quality of the video only because it impacts my ability to use an FPV system.

My issue is this: In order to shoot RAW video with the 5D3 I need to use the Magic Lantern software, which I have been doing for several months now and am getting some fantastic results. Magic Lantern Raw works
ONLY with Canon firmware version 1.1.3. Unfortunately this version of the firmware has HDMI issues. There is no clean HDMI out using Canon firmware 1.1.3 on the 5D3. So, how to I connect my Canon 5D3 to the transmitter for the FPV, since it requires an HDMI connection? If there was a way to use the analog, mini USB out, that is also provided on the 5D3, then I believe I'd be in business. Yes, the mini USB out is analog, and it is only NTSC resolution, not HD, but I believe I can deal with that compromise.

So, 1) Are there any reliable FPV systems out there that will accept a connection from my 5D3's analog video out? Or, 2) is there a way to hack the cable coming out of the mini USB on my Canon to make it work with an FPV system that typically wants an HDMI signal?

Any advice would be exceptionally appreciated.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
Look at something called the CamRemote 2A pro. This takes the video feed from the USB cable and allows you to send it via SD 5.8Ghz and at the same time it allows you to remotely operate the camera. For Canon cameras, this remote really is the mutts nutts.