Greeting from Canandaigua, NY

PYarnall

Truth be told I am writing this from a warm spot in Florida, but I will be back in NY in a week or two.

I have been watching the multi-rotors from the sidelines for a while now and have been thinking about the possibilities for still photography and video. Although I am still a working engineer, (half time, mechanical design), I am a fairly serious photographer, (www.imagesbypyarnall.com).

I watched a casual demo of an DJI F550, did some perhaps inadequate research, and somewhat impulsively jumped into the deep end and bought the 550 kit. My ultimate goal is to fly a Sony RX100. Given my photo goals the GoPros simply don't cut it.

I am discovering that the road to a flying machine is a very convoluted one. Mind numbing choices and dozens of abbreviations and acronyms that are nearly indecipherable.

My choice of gear and my goals may be incompatible, but the shop said it would work. We will see. I am going to start by building up the 550, getting it flyable, and learning to fly it. Then I will tackle the issues of a gimble for the Sony, figuring out how to control it, etc.

Pretty steep learning curve ahead!

I have no previous RC experience, but have built multiple real aircraft and am a pilot, so I am assuming that with patience and practice I will get there.

I have yet to see what sort of multi-rotor activity exists in the Finger Lakes area of Upstate NY, but I hope I can find others that I may learn from.

Sorry, no wise cracks, but I am grateful to find this community on line!

PYarnall

jbrumberg