Starting From Scratch

aaemarks

Hello! My name is Alistair, I'm from Australia, and I want a drone. I'm a filmmaker, and have never done any sort of engineering before in my life.

I was looking to purchase one that was already prepackaged and pretty, probably prebuilt. However, I was advised that the best way to go with the drones is to DIY. Enter MultRotorForums, and my brain exploding. My apologies if this thread is already in existence.

I shoot with a Canon C100, Canon 7D and GoPro video cameras. I'm not entirely sure whether I'd rather go for a DSLR/Cinema Camera rig, or a GoPro one. First and foremost, I'd love it if anyone could give me an indication of cost for either of these type of drones. Just a ball park figure, from buying average parts to buying the best parts.

Now, the trickier part. What the…how the…where the…help? With all this in mind, where do I begin with parts? What parts do I look at? And how the hell do I assemble it? Please note, most of my tone should be read with a Steven Wright-like dry quality. Even though it seems like I'm panicking. I'm not. I swear.

Any help anyone could lend to get this ball rolling would be much appreciated.

Al.

I would venture a guess that you could spend anywhere from $400 for a quad with cheap parts, on all the way to $1500+ if you go for all top quality parts, with all the bells and whistles. Using the Canon cams will necessitate a much larger vehicle than the GoPro, increasing costs a good bit.

There are plenty of build threads around, but the gist of it is that you need the following:

A frame. The thing you bolt the other things to.
A flight controller. The "brain" of the multirotor, it outputs a signal to motors, takes input from radio, outputs to gimbal, contains your sensors, and etc.
ESCs, or Electronic Speed Controllers. These control the speed of the brushless motors and take a signal from the flight controller and connect to the main power lines. You'll need one per motor.