A2 Test Flight Problems

teecee

So this is my very first build and it is a 950 Carboncore H6 with A2 flight controller, 2 X 6C batteries and Futaba T14SG TX. I have it all together, balanced and started testing today. Motors are all spinning correctly, props mounted right and mixer correct for my setup. The bench test went fine with the retractable landing gear strapped down. All directions were correct. First flight - not so good. It immediately flipped over backwards but no damage done (except pride). Then I called my dealer for advice. Turns out IMU was mounted backwards. My thinking was that the cord should come out the BACK like 99% of other items that plug in. Not! I should have noticed the compass was that same way... Remounted IMU, re calibrated compass and bench tested again. All seemed well. Tried another "tethered" flight test. Tied to heavy lead weight with about 2 inches of play to the strut centre between the rails. Figured I could see it get off the ground but not give it enough play in the tether to flip again. Second flight test started better but it was wobbly and then, sure enough, it tried to flip sideways but tether prevented it going over. Now I really don't know what it is. Gains? I don't have a clue what they should be and right now they are factory defaults. My overall weight is 5170 G or 11.4lbs.

Anyone out there have any ideas?

Thanks,

TC

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
Can you get some photos of your rig and some screen shots of your assistant software?

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
I understand that you said your props are turning in the correct direction but an instant flip over is usually going to be one or more prop turning in the wrong direction or your controls (one or more) are reversed.